IDEF, initially abbreviation of ICAM Definition, renamed in 1999 as Integration DEFinition, refers to a family of modeling languages in the field of systems and software engineering.


IDEF is a modeling methodology developed by the U.S. Air Force to help programmers design complicated software systems. IDEF can be divided into the following separate modeling methods:

  • IDEF0 (Function Modeling)
  • IDEF1 (Data Modeling) includes IDEF1X
  • IDEF2 (Simulation Model Design)
  • IDEF3 (Process Description Capture)
  • IDEF4 (Object-Oriented Design). 

Later was added:

  • IDEF5 : Ontology Description Capture
  • IDEF6 : Design Rationale Capture
  • IDEF7 : Information System Auditing
  • IDEF8 : User Interface Modeling
  • IDEF9 : Business Constraint Discovery
  • IDEF10 : Implementation Architecture Modeling
  • IDEF11 : Information Artifact Modeling
  • IDEF12 : Organization Modeling
  • IDEF13 : Three Schema Mapping Design
  • IDEF14 : Network Design


List of books: IDEF